Book Review: Calico Joe

For those that know me, I’m a pretty busy person.  With an active family like mine, the daily routine does not afford me much time to read.  So, when the opportunity presented itself this weekend to do some reading I was pretty excited to read Calico Joe, by John Grisham.  This book got my attention because it appeared to be about baseball, and I have enjoyed Grisham’s work, such as The Firm and many others.

I was not disappointed.  In typical Grisham style, we follow the story of the three main characters Joe Castle, Warren Tracey and Paul Tracey.  Without dropping any spoilers, it highlighted the dynamic of fathers and sons and their involvement with baseball, plus the always heartening rags-to-riches story of the hometown ballplayer making it big.  It reminds us that one of the great things about baseball is that is provides a common language, as the game hasn’t really changed all that much.

I especially appreciated the fact that Grisham brought us along and revealed the details very thoughtfully, which mapped out the eventual collision course of our main characters.  Even though it is fiction, the level of attention to the finer points of the game were appreciated, as it helped put me in the moment as a reader.

Calico Joe receives my recommendation as it was a great read for a baseball fan like me.

Published by

bhackerson

I am a software lab manager in the Corporate Research Lab at 3M in St. Paul.

Leave a Reply

