Looking Forward to 2012

Here I am on the Monday night before returning to work after a great break to end a successful 2011.  I just read an email from my boss reminding me of the challenges ahead in the coming year.  Like most companies, there are still a number of uncertainties in the business environment that is influencing our strategy for 2012.

Even in this environment, management still wants more.  I guess you have a couple of choices as a leader — either find something else to do, or get creative and find ways to get more results.  I was inspired before the break by a great post from Dorie Clark in the Harvard Business Review blog.

It seems to me we can find some productive cycles by asking ourselves what we should stop doing and replace them with more meaningful and productive activities.  Ms. Clark shares five great ideas of things to remove from the repertoire.  The concepts are remarkably simple, but difficult to implement.

Suffice it to say, this Top 5 list is now tacked to my wall.

Published by

bhackerson

I am a software lab manager in the Corporate Research Lab at 3M in St. Paul.

Leave a Reply

