My Favorite Baseball Moment

Matt and I – TwinsFest 2010

My cousin Matt and I had a shared love of baseball growing up.  I was the city boy with a backyard and a fence, and Matt lived on the farm with a huge open field with barns and dogs.  I always enjoyed visits to the farm during the summer where we could play baseball.  We often improvised games that included his dog Freckles as our center fielder.  Freckles was an outstanding fielder.  We were also big Twins fans, and would share many games with our Grandpa on TV on his porch.

As we grew older, the love of baseball never waivered.  Matt was an accomplished high school player, to be sure.  We ended up at college together at Winona State University and we shared many memories — many I am sure neither of us would want documented.
One particular memory, though, was my most cherished baseball memory.  As lifetime Twins fans we had never seen the Twins in the playoffs, never mind the World Series.  It was October 1987 — Game 7 of the World Series — and Matt and I were together at his house on Main Street in Winona.
I will never forget the last out.  A ground ball fielded by Gaetti, over to Hrbek for the final out.  We embraced and jumped around like little kids.  It was like we were back at the farm dreaming about a Twins World Series win.
 
It was great because I got to share it with Matt.  I’ll never forget it.
Published by

bhackerson

I am a software lab manager in the Corporate Research Lab at 3M in St. Paul.

22 thoughts on “My Favorite Baseball Moment”

  1. Touching story … makes me think of the days of watching the California Angels with my brother in the late ’70s. He was so passionate about it … and I was just wanting to be exactly like him, so I pretended to be passionate about it!

    Thank you for sharing the memory… 🙂

  2. And who could forget Herb Carneal’s call: “And for the first time ever, the Minnesota Twins are the world champions of baseball!”

    I think the 3-2-3 double play in game 7 of the ’91 series has to be my favorite baseball memory (and, of course, the subsequent run scored and simultaneous celebration in the bottom of the 10th).

  3. As a diehard Cardinals fan, let’s just say that my memories of that same moment aren’t nearly as cherished.

    But I appreciate the sentiment and nostalgia of sharing something like that with close family.

  4. I’m a big Braves fan, so I am not a fan of Kent Hrbek. LOL. Interestingly enough my favorite memories are from the ’91 and ’92 NLCS and even from the ’91 World Series. They’re not as much from the ’95 World Series, though I was thrilled the Braves won it all.

  5. I am extremely jealous you got to see baseball when it was an art not a science. My favorite , being a Red Sox fan and a little younger then you, has to be when Pedro Martinez threw Don Zimmerman to the ground. What was Zimmerman thinking, don’t care if he is old. That’s the point he is old not a player let the player duke it out. Coaches should only stand up for their players with regards to the blues! but that’s just my old school opinion on how ball should be played

    1. No doubt Zim was foolish trying to take on a man half his age, and I thought Pedro neutralized Zim without too much humiliation. What I don’t get is how the incident rates as a favorite baseball moment. Only a Red Sox fan could find the incident satisfying. I remember the AFC championship game of a few years ago when the chant heard from the celebrating Patriot fans was “The Yankees Suck!”
      That is not my favorite sports memory, but it captures the obsession of the Red Sox “nation” with all things relating to their hatred of the most successful franchise in sports history AKA the “Evil Empire.”

  6. Cool post, agreed baseball memories are best when shared with friends.
    I was in college in the early ’90s in North Carolina, and it felt like half the campus was from Atlanta. I remember watching games in dorm rooms with windows open so we could hear cheers and groans echo across campus. Sadly for Braves fans the ’91 World Series ended with groans…and maybe a few four-letter words sprinkled in!
    I moved to Atlanta in the summer of ’95 and can appreciate Gipson’s comments, as those first years the Braves made the World Series were more exciting than ’95 for many fans.

  7. Love the ’87 Twins… even though I was a quasi-Cardinals fan.

    Game 7, with Frank Viola was a great one to watch on tv.

    Baseball ties my family together also. I remember the great games, but I remember who I watched them with much more!

  8. Another born and bred BASEBALL FAN!!! Glad to have seen your blog out here and will read over them in the moring…Just wanted to say HI from another baseball fan…btw ..you;ll love this humor…my twitter names is
    asjbraves
    as well as any where the name has not been taken..

    Can’t want to talk baseball with you! hey, I’m a chick…but hang with the best of them!

    AJ

  9. I grew up a Cardinals fan. They have had their share of moments. Now being in the Chicago area for all of my adult life the White Sox had theirs and being a WGN listener, still waiting on the Cubs. If the Cubs and Cardinals ever play to reach the WS I will be hard pressed to choose. Luckily one or the other has had a better year and no choosing has had to happen.

  10. The first favorite baseball memory that comes to mind, amongst the many, is when I saw Bill Buckner flub Mookie Wilson’s nubber down the first baseline, giving the ’86 NY Mets the World Series Championship over the BOsox.

  11. No doubt Zim was foolish trying to take on a man half his age, and I thought Pedro neutralized Zim without too much humiliation. What I don’t get is how the incident rates as a favorite baseball moment. Only a Red Sox fan could find the incident satisfying. I remember the AFC championship game of a few years ago when the chant heard from the celebrating Patriot fans was “The Yankees Suck!”That is not my favorite sports memory, but it captures the obsession of the Red Sox “nation” with all things relating to their hatred of the most successful franchise in sports history AKA the “Evil Empire.”
    +1

Leave a Reply

