iPad 2: Early Report

Thanks to my wonderful assistant, I am now a user of a new iPad 2.  I have had a chance to use it for a few weeks and have a couple of observations.  Impressive device, overall, with some new key features.

First, it is much thinner.  The specifications suggest 30 percent or so smaller, which when you set it along side a version 1 model, you will notice that it is a significant.  It slides nicely into my briefcase, and takes less space.  It’s also slightly lighter, but less noticeable than it’s overall footprint.

With the A5 processor, it is faster.  I am definitely noticing that while I have used it so far.  Cameras on both front and back are new also, which creates the opportunity to do a video teleconference.

Adding the dongle accessory, I can also do full screen sharing which has already come in handy.  We had an important executive presentation a few weeks ago where we ran the entire slideshow and related demonstrations on the iPad connected to a large HD monitor through an HDMI cable.

The most noticeable thing overall, in my opinion, is the anti-smudging material for the screen.  Unless you have been enjoying some greasy fried chicken, the iPad 2 screen stays relatively free of smudges.  When I set my iPhone next to it, the difference is really noticeable.

The market has responded well.  There are a number of reports about how many have been sold, and extended delivery dates, and so on.  The most compelling statistic, in my opinion is that 70% of buyers in the first weekend were first time buyers.  This is telling me that the tablet is not a fad — it’s here to stay.

Published by

bhackerson

I am a software lab manager in the Corporate Research Lab at 3M in St. Paul.

One thought on “iPad 2: Early Report”

Leave a Reply

