Cold Streak Ending

My Explorer - December 15th, 2010

I’ve been on a cold streak over the past month. The streak started with a car accident on December 15th, 2010. I was rear-ended on my way to work that morning causing damage to both the front and rear ends of my Explorer. At the speed at which I was struck, I was fortunate to avoid injury, other than being a little shook up.

After getting the truck on its path to getting fixed, I was looking forward to a holiday break from work. On the first day of my vacation, I found myself in the doctor’s office with strep throat. I got treatment for that, and was in pretty good shape for Christmas.

A few days later, I woke up and noticed the right side of my face was numb. At first, I didn’t think much of it, but it got worse fairly quickly. By New Year’s Eve, my right eye wouldn’t blink or close and I was having difficulty eating, drinking, shaving and talking. I felt like I was Elmer Fudd.

After doing a little research online, I learned about Bell’s Palsy. It’s an inflammation that causes the symptoms I was experiencing — facial numbness and inability to close the eye. Also found out there is little to nothing that a doctor can do, and it takes about a month to resolve on its own. I did end up going to the doctor after a few days and received an anti-viral. I do not know if this did any good, though.

I did get another drug prescribed — Prednisone – which is a steroid. After a couple of days, I started to notice some really wild side effects that were impacting me at work and at home. After figuring that out, I stopped that immediately.

Finally after two and a half weeks, I am back on my game. The symptoms have mellowed quite a bit, and I have regained energy and desire.

Here’s to 2011 and leaving this streak in my wake!

Published by

bhackerson

I am a software lab manager in the Corporate Research Lab at 3M in St. Paul.

Leave a Reply

