iPad: Thoughts After the Sermon

This week’s announcement by Apple was once again flawlessly executed.  It reminded me a lot of a church sermon.  By the time you are done, you realized that what Jobs is selling is exactly what you didn’t know you needed.  Apple knows how to do a rollout, that’s for sure.  It’s this kind of buzz which will send many of the early adopters to an all-night vigil the night before the device is available at their local Apple store.

I have been following the conversation via Twitter this week, and my anecdotal assessment is that the reception was very much mixed.  The name of the device (iPad) has a negative connotation to its female audience — I didn’t think of that right away (duh), but that was a pretty big deal.  Also, I’m not sure I really need a big iPhone.  I have one already and it wouldn’t replace any of my existing devices.  The relationship with AT&T for 3G service isn’t a strong selling point.  I hear it is opening to other carriers later, but that will take some time.  I was surprised that the camera wasn’t included either.

There is a lot there to be excited about, though.  When I think about some of the applications running on my iPhone, a larger screen size would make movies and games a much better experience.  I am sure with Apple’s reputation for quality, the device will operate flawlessly.

Tablet computing has been evolving for some time now.  Is this the breakthrough that will finally help the idea come of age?  Or, are we still not ready for it?  Only time will tell.  I will still get one at work for experimentation.  It’s a dirty job, but someone has to do it.

Published by

bhackerson

I am a software lab manager in the Corporate Research Lab at 3M in St. Paul.

Leave a Reply

